LibGuides: History: Rights &amp; Freedoms

GENERAL RESOURCES

Clickview - Don't forget to search Clickview for helpful videos, as well as movies on the Civil Rights movement, like Selma.

King Institute Encyclopaedia - From Stanford University, this online encyclopaedia provides an excellent overview of major events and key figures in the Civil Rights Movement.

Britannica School - Britannica has excellent articles on the Civil Rights Movement and the key figures involved. Access from school only.

World Book - See Library staff for log in details.

Blank Notemaking grid - Use this when taking notes.

Granger Academic - Copyright free historic images for use in your assignments.

Chronology
A timeline of Malcolm X's life.
Biography
A basic biography of Malcolm X.
Malcolm X and Black Power
A quick overview from BBC History.

The Greensboro sit in
A good overview of the sit in from the History Channel.
The Greensboro Chronology
From the International Civil Rights Center and Museum, this page provides a timeline of the events in Greensboro during 1960.
The sit-in movement
An overview of sit-ins as a means of protest and the impact that they had.

Freedom Rides
Information about the Freedom Rides from the History Channel, including video and audio content.
The Freedom Riders, Then and Now
An interesting article from Smithsonian Magazine that details the events of the Freedom Rides and includes pictures of the Riders in 2009.

The Black Panther party
A thorough overview of the party. Be aware of bias in the article.
Black Power and the Black Panthers
Includes details on the beliefs and aims of the Black Panther party.

#BlackLivesMatter: the birth of a new civil rights movement
From The Guardian, this article provides an excellent overview of the BLM movement and its origins.
Black Lives Matter: Race, Policing, and Protest
From Wellesley College, this guide provides a multitude of links to news articles, videos, and websites full of information about Black Lives Matter and Ferguson.
Ferguson unrest: From shooting to nationwide protests
The Kaepernick Effect: protests, across the NFL and beyond, in response to Trump
Why Kaepernick takes the knee

Martin Luther King Jr
An overview of King's life from the History Channel.
Major King events chronology
A timeline of key events in King's life.
King Institute Encyclopaedia
From Stanford University, this is provides very useful information on a huge range of events and people who were critical in King's life and the Civil Rights Movement.

School desegregation
An article from a leading civil rights organisation about the process of desegregation in American schools
Integration timeline
A timeline of integration and segregation in US schools from 1849 to 2007.
School segregation and integration
From the Library of Congress, this article provides a good overview of integration.

Black Power
Through Columbia University, the Amistad Digital Resource provides excellent information on African-American history. This page details the Black Power movement.
Civil Rights and Black Power
An article contrasting the non-violent approach of the Civil Rights Movement with the violent approach of the Black Power Movement.

Watts Riots
This article from the LA Times breaks the Watts Riots down into easy to understand sections dealing with specific questions.
Watts Rebellion
From the King Institute Encyclopaedia, this provides a comprehensive overview of events.

Civil Rights Act
A comprehensive overview from the History Channel about the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
Civil Rights Act of 1964
From the US National Parks Service, this page offers a good overview of the Act and the events that led to it.
Voting Rights Act
A comprehensive overview of the Voting Rights Act of of 1965.
History of Federal Voting Rights Laws
From the US Department of Justice, this page provides details of the Voting Rights Act and its later amendments.

The Referendum Australia had to have
Parliament House - The 1967 Referendum
State Library of Victoria - The 1967 Referendum
The Referendum, 1957-67
Use the subject headings on the left to navigate to specific details on the Referendum.

Brown vs the Board of Education
From the US National Archives, this provides a good overview of Brown vs the Board of Education, as well as key documents relating to the case.
Separate is not equal
From the National Museum of American History, this site discusses Brown vs Board of Education in bite sized chunks.
Landmark: Brown vs Board of Education
A good overview of the case and its impact from the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund.

The death of Emmett Till
From the History Channel, this provides a useful background to Till's life as well as the events that led to his murder.
Trial by jury
1955 article from Time Magazine covering the trial of Till's murderers and their acquittal.
The murder of Emmett Till
An article from the Library of Congress with a good overview of the case.

The Mississippi Burning trial
An overview of the case, with an emphasis on the trial and subsequent legal action through until the present.
The KKK kills three civil rights activists
From the History Channel, this page offers a good overview of the case.
Murder in Mississippi
This article provides a very thorough look at the case, with plenty of supporting images.

Montgomery bus boycott
A good introductory overview from the History Channel.
Rosa Parks and the Montgomery bus boycott
A basic overview of the Montgomery boycott.
The Montgomery bus boycott
From the US National Park Service, this article gives an overview of events as well as details of the impact of the boycott.

Historical timeline
A detailed timeline of Cassius Clay/Muhammad Ali's life and the civil rights movement.
How Muhammad Ali influenced the Civil Rights Movement
From Al Jazeera, this article written after Ali's death details his role in the civil rights movement and the African American community.
Muhammad Ali: symbol of the civil rights movement
An overview of Ali's role as a civil rights activist throughout the course of his life.

The resurgence of the Ku Klux Klan
An article from the Cult Education Institute about the increasing popularity of the Ku Klux Klan following September 11.
The Ku Klux Klan is slowly rising
An article from the New York Post about the history of the KKK and its resurgence in the 21st century.