Skip to main content

Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak Library: Books and Reading

Every Loreto girl carries a book

We read books to find out who we are. What other people, real or imaginary do and think and an essential guide to our understanding of what we ourselves are and may become. Ursula Le Guin


Lunchtime book clubs

Mon   Year 3 and 4 Book Club.

Tues   Prep to Year 2 Book Club. 

Wed    Riveting Reads For Years 1 to 3

Thurs  Prep to Year 2 iPad activities.

Fri        Year 5 and 6 Book Club.


The CBCA 2018 notables have now been announced! Find out what you should read next.

CBCA logo





The 2018 Inky Awards longlist has been announced! The Inky Awards highlights young adult books and is judged by teenagers.

Inside A Dog



Reading lists

Literature program

From Prep to Year 10, Teacher Librarians work with classes to foster a love of reading.  To ensure all students are encouraged to read widely, three separate fiction collections have been established:

Preparatory to Year 4 (Junior Fiction)

Years 5-8 (Middle Fiction)

Years 9-12 (Fiction)

In particular, the 5-8 collection was set up to meet the increasingly sophisticated interests of upper primary students. 


The sites below are full of amazing book reviews, or places for you to write your own reviews! Have a look next time you're looking for a book to read.


Catalogue and My Library

    for books, eBooks and Audiobooks

For more features log in to My Library 

username: first name followed

by first 3 letters of surname

password: your birthday dd/mm

For staff

Bring along a novel to exchange for one from another staff member. The novel exchange lives in Rosemary's office.

The Stella Prize celebrates the writing of Australian women, with an emphasis on "championing diversity and cultural change". Find out more on the Stella Prize's website.


2018 marks the 50th anniversary of the Man Booker Prize, which "aims to promote the finest in fiction". The Man Booker International Prize is awarded to works translated into English. Find out more about both awards at the Man Booker website.


The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction recognises "distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, published during the preceding calendar year." The 2017 Pulitzer Prize winner was The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.


The Miles Franklin Literary Award is given each year to a novel of "highest literary merit" that showcases Australian life.


The Prime Minister's Literary Awards "celebrate the contribution of Australian literature to the nation's cultural and intellectual life." Awards are presented in six categories: fiction, non-fiction, young adult fiction, children's fiction, poetry and Australian history. 


The Victorian Premier's Literary Awards "honour literary achievement by Australian writers." Prizes are awarded for fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, and writing for young adults. This year, all six prizes (including the people's choice) were awarded to women!


The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (formerly the Orange Prize) is the UK's "most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman." The prize is intended to celebrate originality, accessibility and excellence in writing by women around the world.

Loading ...